top of page

Welcome to Nikkohl Makeup!


Hello and welcome to my blog, Nikkohl Makeup!

My name is Nikki, and I am a makeup artist and designer. I was born and raised in the Detroit area and attended college at Eastern Michigan University. I graduated about a month ago and now I'm spending my days unpacking boxes and searching for jobs. I have always loved Michigan and the area I grew up in, so I am determined to find my career here, as well. There is something so intriguing to me about being able to bring the arts to smaller towns and helping create new meccas of culture. To make you feel a little more at home here, I thought I'd offer a few facts about myself! Without further delay, here are...

FIVE FACTS ABOUT THE AUTHOR

1. One of my favorite things to do in my free time is read. I grew up in a house of packed bookshelves and parents who always read to me at night. Now, my mom is an author and works at a library, so there are always new books at hand! Some of my favorite past reads are Night Circus, The Book Thief, and the Harry Potter series. I love being able to escape into a world of fantasy and mystery, and that carries through into my career as well.

2. I am a self-proclaimed cat lady. I absolutely love spending time with my cat, Kitcat, and attempt to make friends with every feline I meet. Yes, I'm that person at the party that will leave the group to go sit in the corner with a cat. Sometimes I swear I'm part cat because I, too, enjoy lounging in the sun, napping, and sassing at anyone who bothers me.

3. When I was little, I strongly believed in magic, and I still do. Even though I know my parents left me quarters and not the Tooth Fairy, I still believe that magic and the mysterious are all around us and that sometimes, not everything has a logical explanation. Perhaps this is why I gravitate towards mythology and legend when I read!

4. Following my love of fantasy and magic, two of my favorite things are Peter Pan and mermaids. Anyone who knows me knows that I love mermaids and have a mermaid tale blanket, a scale-like pillow, and countless pieces of under the sea art. I have also always loved Peter Pan, especially after the 2003 movie came out. What can I say, sometimes I wish could spend my days by Mermaid Lagoon instead of growing up:)

5. Finally, I believe that everyone has the right to do what they love in life. That is why I'm pursuing a career in makeup and costuming - it gives me joy to create and to bring stories to life and so I aim to be able to do it every day!

Thank you for stopping by! I invite you to explore my new website and to return as often as you please because I will always be updating with new show photos, blog posts, and hopefully I will be including videos too. Thank you for visiting today and I hope to see you again soon:)

"It is not in doing what you like, but in liking what you do that is the secret of happiness." J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

- Nikki


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page